MLAs take oath in new Jharkhand assembly | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MLAs take oath in new Jharkhand assembly

india Updated: Jan 04, 2010 17:44 IST

Seventy newly elected members of the 81-member Jharkhand assembly took oath on Monday.

Chief Minister Shibu Soren was present during the oath-taking ceremony.

Former chief minister Madhu Koda's wife, Geeta Koda, was one of the MLAs to take the oath today.

Prominent absentees were Soren's daughter-in-law Sita and son Hemant.

Jharkhand Janadhikar Manch MLA Bandhu Tirkey and Rastriya Kalyan Paksh MLA Chamra Linda, who have given support to the Soren-led government, were sitting beside the treasury bench.

Pro-tem speaker Teklal Mahto presided over the ceremony.

BJP leader Raghuvar Das and AJSU leader Sudesh Mahto, the two ministers who were sworn in with Chief Minister Shibu Soren on December 30, were the first two members to take the oath in the assembly.