Modi govt appoints three new secretaries | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 18, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Modi govt appoints three new secretaries

india Updated: Nov 25, 2014 16:42 IST
Mahesh Langa
Mahesh Langa
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Narendra Modi government issued an order for appointment of secretaries in the corporate affairs, overseas Indian affairs and shipping ministries late on Monday night.

Rajive Kumar, special secretary (petroleum), was appointed as the shipping secretary in place of Viswapati Trivedi, who will retire this month.

Anjuly Chib Duggal, special secretary (expenditure), was shifted and given the portfolio of special secretary (corporate affairs). She will assume the role after incumbent Nawed Masood's retirement in February next year.

Another appointment was that of Sunil Soni, director general, Bureau of Indian Standards. He was given the role of special secretary (overseas Indian affairs), and will take over after the retirement of incumbent Prem Narain in December.

All the three officers are from the 1981 IAS batch .

The government also created new posts of special secretaries in the ministries of corporate affairs and overseas Indian affairs in the process.

Persons appointed in the roles will take over as secretaries of their respective ministries following the retirement of the incumbents.

So far, six IAS officers from the 1981 batch have been appointed as secretaries in various ministries.

Earlier, Gujarat cadre IAS officer Hasmukh Adhia was appointed as secretary (financial services), while Anuj Bishnoi was given the charge of secretary (water resources).

Anil Swarup, from the same batch, was made secretary (coal) in the last round of bureaucratic reshuffle.