Modi introduces ministers in RS

  • PTI, New Delhi
  • Updated: Jun 10, 2014 16:51 IST

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Tuesday introduced to the Rajya Sabha 43 of the 44 members of his council of ministers.

All the ministers were introduced in the House, barring minister of state for heavy industries Pon Radhakrishnan, who was absent.

Finance, corporate and defence minister Arun Jaitley was late for the introduction, while road transport, highways, shipping and rural development minister Nitin Gadkari could just make it when his introduction was halfway through.

Those introduced included BJP top brass including home minister Rajnath Singh, external affairs minister Sushma Swaraj and parliamentary affairs, urban development, housing and poverty alleviation minister M Venkaiah Naidu.

Among the ministers representing BJP's allies were minister for consumer affairs, food and public distribution Ram Vilas Paswan (LJP), heavy industries and public enterprises minister Anant Geete (Shiv Sena), food processing minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal (SAD) and civil aviation minister Ashok Gajapathi Raju (TDP).

Others introduced by the Prime Minister included social justice and empowerment minister T C Gehlot, HRD minister Smriti Zubin Irani and health and family welfare minister Harsh Vardhan.

Modi introduced Ministers in Hindi.

There are 22 cabinet ministers, 10 ministers of state with independent charge and 12 ministers of state.

From Around the Web
Sponsored by Revcontent

also read

Who mailed the suicides notes? CCTV footage holds answers to Bansals’ deaths
Show comments