Modi vacates Vadodara seat, Mulayam resigns from Mainpuri

  • PTI, New Delhi
  • Updated: Jun 05, 2014 15:23 IST

The resignations of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav from Vadodara and Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituencies respectively have been accepted.

The Speaker also accepted the resignation of K Chandrasekhar Rao from Medak Lok Sabha constituency, Protem Speaker Kamal Nath informed the Lok Sabha today.

Yadav and Rao had resigned on May 26, while Modi tendered his resignation on May 29. All the three resignations were accepted with effect from May 29.

Modi and Yadav had contested the Lok Sabha elections from two seats. While Modi has retained the Varanasi constituency, Yadav retained Azamgarh.

Rao vacated the Medak seat after he became the first Chief Minister of Telangana on June 2.

also read

Expelled diplomat Akhtar tried to exploit people with kin in Pakistan
Show comments