MP: BJP announces second and third lists of candidates | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MP: BJP announces second and third lists of candidates

india Updated: Nov 07, 2013 00:03 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

BJP released its second and third lists of candidates for state assembly elections on Wednesday giving tickets to remaining six ministers but dropping as many as 22 MLAs. Both the lists have names of 72 candidates.

With this, 31 ministers in Shivraj Singh Chouhan cabinet have got tickets. Only two have been denied tickets. PWD minister Nagendra Singh had expressed his unwillingness to contest elections. The number of sitting MLAs dropped so far is 44.

The second list which could not be declared on Tuesday due to state assembly speaker Ishwardas Rohani's demise, came on Wednesday morning containing 64 candidates. They include six ministers and 22 MLAs.

The third list was announced at the night. It has eight candidates in it including member of Parliament Maya Singh who has been selected for Gwalior East seat, her home turf. The other seats include Gwalior Rural, Pichhore, Gadarwara, Khilchipur, Khategaon, Kukshi (ST) and Badnawar.

The ministers who have got tickets as per the second list include Narayan Singh Kushwaha, KL Agarwal, Dashrath Lodhi, Manohar Untwal, Ranjana Baghel and Paras Jain. Untwal who is representing Alot assembly constituency in Ratlam district has been shifted to Agar seat.

The list includes the name of Ashok Rohani, son of late Ishwardas Rohani, as the candidate for Jabalpur Cantt seat. Speaker Rohani whose name appeared in the first list of candidates had not filed his nomination papers.

Ten woman candidates appear in the lists to raise their tally to 27 so far. In 2008 assembly election BJP had fielded 25 woman candidates.
Out of the total 230 seats there are still 12 seats left the candidates for which are yet to be announced by the party. Eight of these seats have sitting BJP MLAs while one seat (Neemuch) it represented is lying vacant after death of Khuman Singh Shivaji.

Highlight of second and third lists

6 Ministers
10 Woman candidates
23 MLAs retained for candidature
22 MLAs dropped