Naidu, 35 TDP MLAs face Assembly suspension | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Naidu, 35 TDP MLAs face Assembly suspension

india Updated: Dec 20, 2006 11:39 IST
Highlight Story

Thirty-five TDP legislators, including their floor leader N Chandrababu Naidu were on Wednesday suspended from Andhra Pradesh Assembly for the morning session for obstructing the proceedings over the land row involving Chief Minister YS Rajasekhara Reddy.

Opposition members created a ruckus during Zero Hour, raising the issue of alleged violation of land laws by the chief minister.

Defying a unanimous decision taken earlier at the floor leaders meeting convened by Speaker KR Suresh Reddy to complete the listed business, the TDP members demanded the chief minister's resignation for "illegaly" possessing lands in violation of Land Ceiling Act.

The Speaker disallowed the Opposition members from raising the land issue.

Amidst the din, Legislative Affairs Minister K Rosaiah moved a motion under rule 300 seeking suspension of 35 TDP members including Naidu.