Namdhari, Karia Munda quit assembly seats | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 19, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Namdhari, Karia Munda quit assembly seats

india Updated: May 27, 2009 23:19 IST

Former Jharkhand assembly speaker Inder Singh Namdhari and ex-union minister Karia Munda on Wednesday resigned from the state Vidhan Sabha as they retained their Lok Sabha seats.

"Both have tendered their resignations," state assembly Speaker, Alamgir Alam told PTI in Ranchi.

Namdhari won the Chatra lok sabha seat while Karia Munda retained the Khunti parliamentary constituency in the just concluded general elections.

Former Chief Ministers -- Shibu Soren (JMM), Arjun Munda (BJP) and Madhu Koda (Ind) and BJP MLA Pashupati Nath Singh are the others to contest and win the Lok Sabha polls.

Soren won both the Dumka Lok Sabha seat and Jamtara Assembly bypoll, five months after losing the Tamar assembly by-elections.

It was for the first time that the JMM supremo won an Assembly seat after Jharkhand was carved out of Bihar.

"Soren has not yet approached me to take oath as a member of the state assembly," the Speaker said, as the JMM chief is yet to decide which seat to vacate.

The state assembly is now under suspended animation after President's rule was imposed on January 19 this year following the failure of any party or combine to stake claim after Soren's resignation as the chief minister.