NC issues second list of candidates for Assembly elections | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

NC issues second list of candidates for Assembly elections

india Updated: Jul 23, 2014 20:08 IST

Ruling National Conference (NC) on Wednesday announced its second list of candidates for the forthcoming Assembly elections in Jammu and Kashmir scheduled to be held at the end of this year.

Prominent among the candidates announced by the NC is Rajya Sabha member, Mohammad Shafi who will contest from the Uri Assembly segment.

Peer Mushtaq Bukhari (Surankote), Khalid Najeeb Suhrawardy(Doda), Dr Chaman Lal (Ramban), Sajaad Shaheen (Banihal), Sunil Verma (Udhampur), Devender Singh Bindu (Basohli) and T S Tony (Suchet Garh) are other notable leaders to be given tickets.

K K Bakshi (Kathua), Romi Khajuria (Billawar), Chandu Ram(Hiranagar), Satwant Kaur Dogra (Samba), Dr Kamal Arora (Bishnah) and Satpal Lakhotra (Raipur Domana) complete the list.

The list was issued after the meeting of the party's parliamentary board chaired by NC president, Farooq Abdullah.

Chief minister, Omar Abdullah, who is the working president of the party, was also present.

This was the second list of candidates issued by the NC which had earlier announced 32 candidates last week.

NC and Congress, which have contested thelast two Lok Sabha polls as pre-poll allies in Jammu and Kashmir, on Sunday decided to go alone in the coming Assembly elections in the state.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature