Nine constituenices to have two EVMs | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Nine constituenices to have two EVMs

india Updated: Apr 20, 2009 15:37 IST

Highlight Story

A plethora of independent candidates in Karnataka for the Lok Sabha polls has led to the installation of two or more Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in some constituencies. An EVM can record the votes of sixteen candidates.

In the event of contestants exceeding 16, the authorities will deploy two EVMs. In case the number of candidates exceed 32 in any constituency, it required installation of three EVMs.

Chikkaballapur (20 candidates), Koppal (18), Bangalore South (20), Kolar SC (22), Bangalore North (28), Bidar (27), Davanagere (28) and Bagalkot (17) will have two EVMs. Bangalore Central, where 37 candidates are in the fray, will have three EVMs.

No independent has won in the Lok Sabha polls. Polling for 28 constituencies in Karnataka are being held in two phases on April 23 and April 30. While 17 constituencies go to polls in the phase, polling for the rest will be held on April 30. About 52,000 EVMs were expected to be deployed for the two-phased polls in the state.