Non-performers may lose their berths | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 03, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Non-performers may lose their berths

india Updated: Nov 01, 2006 01:32 IST
Highlight Story

THE AXE looms large over a few senior players, who didn’t do well at the last month’s World Cup at Madrid where Indian eves finished second last among 12 teams.

Despite a poor showing, the mission of Indian women’s hockey team is to do well at the upcoming Doha Asiad, beginning from December 1. And for this, the emphasis is on the junior players.

The fate of the ‘non-performers’ is expected to be decided on Thursday by the selection committee as Women’s Hockey Association of India chief Vidya Stokes, secretary Amrit Bose and others would be here at the SAI Sub-Centre, where the camp of Indian team is on these days.

The selection committee is expected to have a final discussion with the team’s chief coach Maharaj Kishan Kaushik and his assistant Anurita Saini along with goalkeeping coach AB Subbaiah.

The situation is quite tricky for the selectors also as before the Madrid World Cup they were confident of a good finish, at least among the top six. But a pathetic show, coupled with a controversy, shattered India’s hopes, and it was a great surprise for all.

“This time we are more careful while selecting some of the seniors, who failed to live up to the expectations at the Madrid event. We do have some promising
players among the juniors, and there would be no harm if we test their skills at Doha Asiad,” said a source in the selection panel.

“This time we can’t afford to take any risk and a good showing at the Doha Asiad will boost the confidence of the team for the future events.”


Helen Mary, Dipika Murty, Marita Tirkey, Poonam Toppo, Jasdeep Kaur, Pushpa Pradhan, Binita Toppo, Rajwinder Kaur, Kantia Baa, Kirandeep Kaur, Suman Bala, Subhadra Pradhan, Gagandeep Kaur, Sumrai Lakra, Nilima Kajur, Harjinder Kaur Kamboj, A Manorama Devi, TH Ranjita, Rosalind Ralte, Asunta Lakra, Sanghgai Ibemhal Chanu, Deepika, Saba Anjum, Surinder Kaur, Binita Xess, Ritu Rani, Jasjeet Kaur, Mamta Kharab, Lalremruati, Jyoti Sunita Kulla and Joydeep Kaur. Officials: MK Kau-shik, A Saini, AB Subbaiah and V Dhawan.