Not serious? Question over BJP candidate against CM | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Not serious? Question over BJP candidate against CM

india Updated: Nov 16, 2014 14:20 IST
Tarun Uphadhyay
Tarun Uphadhyay
Hindustan Times

In its fourth list of candidates for the J&K elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday announced peace activist Darakhshan Andrabi as its candidate against incumbent chief minister Omar Abdullah from Sonawar.

Most famous for celebrating Valentine’s Day as a day of love on the border with Pakistan, she is being seen as a weak candidate as compared to Dr Hina Bhat, whose name was doing the rounds for BJP ticket so far.

Omar’s father Farooq Abdullah had won from Sonawar in 2008 by just 94 votes. The CM is now contesting from Sonawar and Beerwah after moving away from his traditional Ganderbal seat. The move is seen as sign of nervousness after the National Conference lost all three seats it contested in Kashmir in the Lok Sabha polls. In its list of 16 candidates, BJP named Abdul Rasheed Bandey as its Beerwah nominee.

But the spotlight is on Andrabi’s selction. The plan originally, sources said, was to field Dr Bhat from Sonawar as well as Amira Kadal. The choice now, though, has raised questions over the seriousness of the BJP to put up fight against Omar.

Andrabi recently joined the BJP after merging her Socialist Democratic Party founded in 2004 with it. A doctorate-holder in Urdu, she has never contested elections earlier. “Dr Bhat is a visible face of the party and also a doctor. She could have been a strong and serious candidate,” remarked a senior BJP leader.

Andrabi appeared confident: “Omar was flying for all six years of his tenure. I worked on the ground. I will not disappoint the party. He doesn’t stand a chance.”

Congress has fielded Khem Lata Wakhloo from Sonawar, while PDP candidate is Mohammad Ashraf Mir.

The constituency was carved out in 1995, and the NC has won it in the last three elections.

4th list: BJP names 16 more

BJP has released the fourth list of candidates for the elections in J&K.

In Jammu, former mayor Kavinder Gupta got the ticket from Gandhi Nagar. Earlier, the seat was contested by former state BJP president Nirmal Singh who lost to Congress’ Raman Bhalla. This time Singh is contesting from Billawar. There were many aspirants for the seat. The names of former Congress leader Manmohan Choudhary, who recently joined the party, Aseem Gupta, Sunil Sethi and Vikram Randhwa were doing rounds. When Gupta’s name was announced, supporters of Choudhary raised slogans at the function.

Dr Devinder Manyal got the ticket from Samba (SC) and former MLA Puran Singh from Darhal.
In Kashmir, BJP fielded Darakhshan Andrabi from Sonawar and Abdul Rasheed Bandey from Beerwah, both seats being contested by CM Omar Abdullah.

Abdul Mir Mushtaq Navshari was fielded from Uri, Jubair Nazir from Batamaloo, Fayaz Rahat from Budgam, Abdul Rahman Chopon from Charari Sharief, Avtar Singh from Tral, Abdul Mohammad Wagey from Pampore, Javed Ahmad Qadri from Shopian, Sohil Malik from Doru, Khursheed Ahmed Malik from Kokernag, Khalid Ahmed Dar from Shangus, PN Panditad from Bijbehara.

The BJP has announced 70 candidates out of 87 for the elections so far.