Odisha records 70% polling in second and last phase | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 02, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Odisha records 70% polling in second and last phase

india Updated: Apr 17, 2014 22:06 IST
Priya Ranjan Sahu

The second and last phase of polling in Odisha for 11 Lok Sabha constituencies and 77 assembly constituencies recorded 70% turnout on Thursday.

Polling started at 7 am and ended at 6 pm. A preliminary report said Dhenkanal and Angul district recorded the highest turnout of 75% each, while lowest turnout of 45% (till 5 pm) was registered in Khurda. “There might however be some changes when we receive the final reports,” Odisha chief electoral officer Mona Sharma said.

In the first phase polls for 10 Lok Sabha constituency and 70 assembly seats on April 10, the state had recorded more than 75% turnout.

Election commission officials said they had not received reports of any untoward incidents from any parts of the state and expected the polling to pick up later in the day.

Prominent politicians whose fate will be decided in the second phase are Union minister Srikant Jena of Congress in Balasore Lok Sabha constituency, Tathagat Satapathy of BJD in Dhenkanal, Prasanna Patsani in Bhubaneswar and Pinaki Mishra in Puri.

Here's a map for the constituencies going to polls on Thursday. On searching, you will get details of all parties fighting from a constituency and key candiates there: