Only three sitting MPs in election fray from Marathwada | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Only three sitting MPs in election fray from Marathwada

india Updated: Apr 11, 2009 14:16 IST

Only three out of the eight sitting MPs, including Union Minister for Rural Development Suryakanta Patil will be seeking re-election in the Marathwada region in the ensuing Lok Sabha polls.

Patil, an NCP candidate will be contesting from Hingoli, while Shiv-Sena-BJP combine candidate Rao Saheb Danve and Sena's Chandrakant Khaire will be facing the electorates from Jalna and Aurangabad Lok Sabha constituencies respectively.

With Shiv Sena dissident Tukaram Renge Patil from Parbhani, former NCP MP Jaisinghrao Gaikwad from Beed, Sena's Kalpana Narhire from Osmanabad, BJP's D B Patil from Nanded and Rupa Nilangekar from Latur out of the election fray, the poll scene in Marathwada region has changed completely.

Renge Patil was expelled from the party after he abstained from voting in the trust motion against the Manmohan Singh government in July 2008. Moreover, the Parbhani seat went to NCP in the seat sharing agreement and Suresh Warpudkar has been fielded from this constituency.

BJP candidate Rupa Nilangekar, who defeated former Union Home minister Shivraj Patil in 2004, is out of fray as the Latur constituency is reserved for the SC category.

Former NCP leader and sitting MP of Beed constituency Jaisinghrao Gaikwad left the party after he was denied a Lok Sabh ticket this time and joined the Shiv Sena recently.