Oriental Insurance TT tourney begins from Feb 16 | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Oriental Insurance TT tourney begins from Feb 16

india Updated: Feb 15, 2007 15:27 IST

THE ALL India Table Tennis Tournament organised by the Oriental Insurance Sports and Recreation Club on the occasion of the 25th year celebration of Oriental Insurance Regional Office will begin from February 16 and conclude on February 17. The matches will be played at Abhay Prashal.

Oriental Insurance chairman and managing director M R Ramadoss will be the chief guest and inaugurate the two-day tournament at 8.30 am.

Addressing the press conference, Oriental Insurance Sports and Recreation Club regional committee Indore president Dr R K Puri said that teams from five zones — North, South, East, West and Central — are taking part in the tournament.
Seventy matches will be played in the tournament — 25 singles, doubles and mixed doubles matches, he added.

Last year, Manohar from Hyderabad (south zone) was the champion in the men’s section while in the women’s section, Ruchi Pandey from Chandigarh (north zone) was the champion.

The leading players who would be in action are B Manohar (Hyderabad), Sharad Grover (Mumbai), Anupam Batha (Ghaziabad), Harish Ptan (Hyderabad), Suresh Pranan (Hyderabad), Atul Atale (Raigargh), Ruchi Pandey (Chandigarh) and Asha Jyoti from Hyderabad. 

Puri said that the All India tournament will be held once in two years. To commemorate the silver jubilee year of their Regional Office they opted to organise table tennis tournament. Secretary of the committee Ramesh Bansal said that for the first time Indore is hosting table tennis as earlier they had organised cricket

In each zone, five men and three women matches will be played. More than 45 players will be in action from all over the country. The matches would be played on Round Robin basis, the maximum match winner will be the champion of the tournament, Bansal added.

There will be team and individual events. The finals will be played on February 17 and the prize distribution ceremony will be held at the MGM Medical College. 

Host Central Zone team: Atul Atale and Archana Atale (Raigarh), Akhilesh Bajaj, Rajesh Marmat and Sulabha Lagoo (Indore), Keerti Hirwani (Bhopal), and Manoj Kumar and U P Singh from Lucknow.