Panel for Kolar municipality formed | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Panel for Kolar municipality formed

india Updated: Nov 13, 2006 17:46 IST

THE URBAN Administration Department of the State Government on Sunday formed a non-official committee, which will work until the formation of the Kolar Municipality and its elections, which will be carried out within six months.

The State Government also appointed the chief municipal officer (CMO) of this to-be-constituted municipality. With the formation of this committee, sarpanchs of eight village panchayats  automatically lose their posts.

This follows the decision taken a couple of days back by the district administration disbanding eight village panchayats of Kolar Road.

The State Government appointed Iqbal Patel as president of the committee while Jawaharilal Nath will be vice president. Other members included BS Bajpai, Parmanand Patidar, Pawan Borana, P Ganesh and Mamta Rai. This committee will forward their suggestions related to developmental work until elections for the Kolar Municipality are complete.

Work of preparing voters list and ward constitution will be started soon. Additional Tehsildar Ajay Kumar Shobhane has been appointed as the chief municipal officer of Kolar Municipality, which will be 87th municipality of the State.

Addressing a function on Kolar Road on Sunday, Minister for Commerce and Industries Babulal Gaur said people of this area could now carry out development according to their wishes.

He said earlier this area was being included into the Bhopal Municipal Corporation (BMC) limits due to limited resources. However, since BMC was unable to develop this area the decision to constitute the municipality was taken, he added.

This programme was organised to thank BJP leaders for the constitution of Kolar Municipality. BJP organisational general secretary Kaptan Singh Solanki and other leaders were also present on the occasion.