Patnaik sworn in, begins 4th innings as Odisha CM

  • Priya Ranjan Sahu, Hindustan Times, Bhubaneswar
  • Updated: May 21, 2014 14:56 IST

Naveen Patnaik, who led the Biju Janata Dal to a stupendous victory in the elections for state assembly, was sworn-in as the chief minister of Odisha for the fourth term in Bhubaneswar on Wednesday.

Patnaik, who has ruled Odisha for the past 14 years, was administered the oath of office and secrecy by governor SC Jamir in the morning in a ceremony at Raj Bhawan.

A 21-member council of ministers, including 11 cabinet and 10 ministers of state, also took oath along with Patnaik.

After the swearing-in ceremony, Patnaik went to the State Secretariat where the employees accorded him an overwhelming welcome.

The cabinet ministers who took oath are Damodar Rout, Bijayshree Routray, Debi Prasanna Mishra, Pradeep Kumar Amat, Badrinarayan Patra, Usha Devi, Jogendra Behera, Pradip Kumar Maharathy, Bikram Keshari Arukh, Lal Bihari Himirika and Puspendra Singh Deo.

The ministers of state are Atanu Kumar Sabyasachi, Ashok Kumar Panda, Arun Kumar Sahu, Sanjay Dasburma, Ramesh Kumar Majhi, Pradeep Kumar Panigrahi, Prafulla Kumar Mallick, Sudam Marandi, Pranab Prakash Das and Snehangini Churia.

Some senior ministers holding importance portfolios in the outgoing ministry did not find their names in the new cabinet.

SN Patro (revenue), Rajanikant Singh (steel and mines) and Niranjan Pujari (industry) were not given a place in the new government.

Finance minister Prasanna Acharya lost the election, while former finance minister and powerful party leader Prafulla Ghadei was denied a ticket to contest.

also read

Overcrowding to unnatural deaths: 10 takeaways about Delhi’s jails
Show comments