Paul sworn in as 15th Governor of Manipur

  • Sobhapati Samom, Hindustan Times, Imphal
  • Updated: Sep 15, 2014 22:52 IST

Meghalaya governor Dr Krisan Kant Paul has been formally sworn in as the 15th governor of Manipur at Durbar Hall of Raj Bhavan in Imphal this afternoon at 3pm. He takes additional charge of Manipur apart from the existing status.

Chief Justice of Manipur High Court Justice Laxmi Kanta Mohapatra administered the oath of office and secrecy to the new governor of Manipur. Earlier the new Governor also inspected a guard of honour. Manipur chief minister O Ibobi Singh, Deputy chief minister Gaikhangam his council of minister, MLAs from both ruling and opposition parties, former chief ministers Rishang Keishing, Radhabinod Koijam, top officials of the state government led by the chief secretary PC Lawmkunga, DGP Manipur and other senior citizens also attended the day’s simple swearing in ceremony.

New governor KK Paul replaced the outgoing Governor Vinod Kumar Duggal who left Imphal on Sunday after attending a series of farewell party including Chief Minister’s tea party.The swearing of the new governor was necessitated after the President of India accepted the resignation paper of the former Governor’s resignation paper.

also read

AIIMS proposes increasing retirement age of faculty members from 65 to 67
Show comments