Payodhi stuns top-ranked Swati Jain, enters semis | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Payodhi stuns top-ranked Swati Jain, enters semis

india Updated: Sep 14, 2006 14:37 IST
Highlight Story

PAYODHI PATTAN, Pooja Sharma and Nidhi Rajwade stunned their opponents to enter the last four in the MP State Ranking Table Tennis Tournament organised by Bank of India at Abhay Prashal.

In the biggest upset of the tournament in the pre-quarterfinal, top seeded Swati Jain was shown door by Indore girl Payodhi Pattan.

Payodhi played brilliantly to oust her opponent. In the quarterfinal, Payodhi once again showed her class and beat Janvi Tare by 11-4, 11-6,11-4,8-11 and 11-5 to sail into the last four.

In the second quarterfinal match, Pooja Sharma beat Apeksha Bhagwat11-7, 11-8,8-11, 11-6 and 11-5 while Nidhi Rawade beat Varsha Hawaldar by 10-12, 11-7 and 11-6 to enter the last four.

In the pre-quarterfinal Amit Sharma of Indore shocked 11th ranked Rupesh Singh of Bhopal by 7-11, 11-9,12-10, 16-14 and 15-13 to advance to the last eight.

The other pre-quarterfinal results: Prshant Aher beat Satyajit Ghosh of Jabalpur by 11-4, 16-14, 11-9, 9-11 and 11-6. Arpit Bhopalkar defeated Gaurav Jireti by 11-5, 11-9, 11-5 and 11-4; Ankur Joshi defeated Achyut Bajaj by 17-15, 11-7, 9-11, 11-13, 11-7 and 11-7. Yeser Pasha of Bhopal beat Vishwajit Ghosh of Jabalpour by 11-7, 11-5, 11-9 and 11-8.

Sameer Gauri of Bhopal beat Subrajit Ghosh of Jabalpur by 16-14, 11-8, 11-7,10-12, 14-12; Sashank Tiwari of Indore beat Pratike Tare by 11-7, 11-7,11-9 and 13-11. In the last pre-quarterfinal,  Sameer Yadav of Jabalpur defeated Kshitij Jain by 5-11, 21-19, 8-11,11-6,11-8, 6-11 and 11-4.

In the junior boys’ quarterfinal, Achyut Bajaj, Subrjit Ghosh, Aman Chourasia and Satyajit Ghosh won their respective matches to advance.