PDP announces candidates for 4 seats; Mehbooba may not contest

  • None, Srinagar
  • Updated: Aug 10, 2014 22:56 IST

Opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Sunday nominated advocate Aijaz Ahmad Mir for Wachi Assembly seat in Jammu and Kashmir, indicating that party president Mehbooba Mufti might not contest the upcoming state elections.

A PDP spokesman released the name of four candidates for Wachi (Aijaz Ahmad Mir), Marh (Suram Singh), Samba (Sanny Sangral) and Nagrota (Hussain Ali Wafa).

Wachi Assembly segment in south Kashmir's Shopian district was represented by Mehbooba as she won from the constituency in 2008 Assembly elections.

Mehbooba is presently a Lok Sabha member from south Kashmir following her victory in the recent polls.

PDP has already named candidates for most of the segments as the state is scheduled to go to polls later this year.

also read

PM Modi to address 172 newly inducted IAS officers of 2014 on Thursday
Show comments