Petition against Karat, other CPM leaders dismissed | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Petition against Karat, other CPM leaders dismissed

india Updated: Jul 20, 2009 17:09 IST

A CBI court here on Monday dismissed a petition seeking to launch contempt proceedings against 12 CPI (M) leaders, including party general secretary Prakash Karat and three Chief Ministers, for allegedly making "prejudicial" statements in a graft case involving party's Kerala secretary Pinarayi Vijayan.

Dismissing the petition, the CBI court said prima facie the petition was not maintainable.

Kerala, West Bengal and Tripura Chief Ministers- V S Achuthanandan, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, Manik Sarkar respectively, Politbureau member S Ramachandran Pillai, Pinarayi Vijayan and state ministers, Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, Paloli Muhammedkutty, Thomas Issac, M A Baby, P K Sreemathi and P K Gurudasan- are among the CPM leaders against whom contempt proceedings were sought to be initiated by T P Nandakumar, Editor of 'Crime Magazine'.

The petition claimed that with CBI submitting the "final report" in the SNC Lavalin case, the matter was before the court but Karat had discussed the issue in the party forums on July 11 and 12 and had stated that Vijayan was not involved in any corrupt practice.

"Such statements that a person accused and facing trial in a criminal case was not involved in corruption interferes with the due course of justice," the petitioner contended.