PM, Union ministers resign; allies eye key Cabinet berths | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

PM, Union ministers resign; allies eye key Cabinet berths

india Updated: May 18, 2009 12:52 IST

The last Cabinet meet ended with the passing of the dissolution of 14th Lok Sabha. All the Union Ministers resigned to pave way for the formation of the new government.

While celebrations are still on in the UPA camp, the focus has now shifted to government formation. At 261, the UPA needs 11 seats to reach the simple majority mark, which the leaders believe they will get there with the help of less troublesome partners.

Allies are eyeing key berths. According to reports, Congress and its pre-poll allies are not very keen on RJD's Lalu Yadav. Also reports say the Congress will appoint young MPs to Cabinet posts this time.

Sources say Rahul Gandhi is likely to be offered HRD Ministry, but he might just say no to any Cabinet post. Prime Minister Manmohan Singh as well as other party leaders praised Rahul's efforts and lauded him for the impressive win.

The present Cabinet ministers tendered resignations to PM to facilitate the formation of the new government.

PM will now submit the resignations to President Pratibha Patil before the formation of new Cabinet.

The Congress party has already invited Mamata Baneerjee to its fold for new government formation, but her exact role has not yet been ascertained.

While Lalu or Mulayam or Paswan may not have applied formally or informally for induction into the UPA or its government, the Congress has decided to take a call on them after discussions with it pre-poll allies.

And they are Sharad Pawar’s NCP, M. Karunanidhi’s DMK, Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress and Farooq Abdullah’s National Conference.

“We will have consultations with our pre-poll allies,” said spokesman Janardhan Dwivedi.

The Congress Parliamentary Party will meet on Tuesday to choose Manmohan Singh as its parliamentary party leader and Gandhi as CPP chairperson.

Though much would depend on when the Lok Sabha is constituted and when President Pratibha Patil invites Manmohan Singh to form the government, the swearing in is likely on May 20 or May 22 (the day he took oath five years ago).