Political map of Capital redrawn | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 08, 2016-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Political map of Capital redrawn

india Updated: Sep 22, 2006 06:09 IST
Highlight Story

Delhi's electoral map has been redrawn. The Delimitation Commission has notified its report demarcating the parliamentary and assembly constituencies. A few constituencies have vanished from the map and some others redrawn.

There are seven Lok Sabha seats with each of them having 10 assembly constituencies. The number of reserved assembly segments has been brought down to 12 from 14.

The parliamentary constituencies are Chandni Chowk, North-East Delhi, East Delhi, New Delhi, North-West Delhi (reserved seat), West Delhi and South Delhi. Of these, North-East Delhi, North-West Delhi and West Delhi are new.

Outer Delhi, Karol Bagh and Delhi Sadar are no longer parliamentary constituencies. This will force their sitting MPs -- Sajjan Kumar, Krishna Teerath and Jagdish Tytler - to look for new seats in the next elections.

The constituencies of New Delhi, Chandni Chowk and South Delhi have been redrawn. If and when their MPs, Ajay Maken, Kapil Sibal and VK Malhotra, seek a fresh mandate, they will have to woo some new electorate.

Each assembly constituency has 197,800 voters on an average; and each parliamentary constituency 19.78 lakh, according to the 2001 Census. This will end the present disorganised electoral system in which Outer Delhi constituency has over 30 lakh voters while Chandni Chowk has just 3.5 lakh electorate.

While redrawing parliamentary seats, the commission did not take into account natural boundaries. So, Okhla assembly segment - which till now was part of South Delhi -- will now be part of East Delhi parliamentary constituency though the Yamuna separates them.