Polling for nine council seats begins | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 25, 2017-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Polling for nine council seats begins

india Updated: Mar 26, 2008 11:41 IST

Polling for nine seats of Maharashtra Legislative Council began at 0900 hrs in Vidhan Bhawan on Wednesday.

The polling will end at 1600 hrs and counting will begin at 1700 hrs.

Ten candidates are in the fray for nine seats.

The electoral college comprises of 289 members of the state assembly.
A candidate who gets a minimum of 29 first preference votes is sure of victory. There is speculation that the Shiv Sena may find the going tough for one of its candidates as some of its MLAs 'support' former Sena leader and Revenue Minister Narayan Rane.

Elections to seven Rajya Sabha seats from Maharashtra was also scheduled for Wednesday but all the seven candidates were elected unopposed.

Union ministers Murli Deora and Prithviraj Chavan, educationist Janardhan Waghmare, Y P Trivedi, industrialist Rajkumar Dhoot, journalist Bharatkuma Raut and Prakash Jawadekar were unelected unopposed to the House of Elders.