Pramod, Azam?s comments anger BJP | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Pramod, Azam?s comments anger BJP

india Updated: Sep 01, 2006 11:34 IST

BJP MEMBERS stormed the Well of the House and proceedings had to be adjourned twice for 20 minutes in the Vidhan Sabha on Thursday, when the Congress Legislature Party leader Pramod Tiwari made certain comments against former Speaker Keshari Nath Tripathi.

Keshari Nath Tripathi raised the issue of certain charges levelled against him by leader of the House Mulayam Singh Yadav in the House in his absence on August 23. Tripathi sought to clarify his position by replying to the allegations levelled against him by the Chief Minister and quoted various rules to claim that an opportunity be given to him to clarify, as it was against the rules to make allegations against any member in his absence.

Vehemently opposing the move, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Azam Khan said that Tripathi was a learned person, practising lawyer of the Allahabad High Court and a member of the Bar Council but he was also the same man who said that Rampur was like a Pakistan.

This enraged already agitated Keshari Nath Tripathi while Pramod Tiwari (Congress) added fuel to the fire by saying that “Azam Khan Ne Tripathiji Ko Chor Nahien Kaha, Beiman Nahien Kaha, Dacoit Nahien Kaha”.

This led to chaos and slogan-shouting by BJP members, who entered the Well demanding that comments of Azam Khan and Pramod Tiwari be dropped from the proceedings. Some BJP members indulged in a scuffle with the security guards in a bid to move towards the podium.

The Speaker adjourned the House for 10 minutes, which was later extended for another 10 minutes and called Pramod Tiwari, Keshri Nath Tripathi and Azam Khan to his chamber. When the House reassembled, Speaker assured the members that he would go through the proceedings and strike out objectionable comments made by any of the members. The Speaker pacified Tripathi by an assurance that he would get an opportunity to clarify but only when the Chief Minister would also be present in the House.

Meanwhile, Speaker Mata Prasad Pandey today informed the House that membership of five ‘rebel’ BSP legislators, who were earlier disqualified, had been restored following an interim order of the Apex Court.

The five MLAs—Ram Krishna, Dharmpal, Jaivir Singh, Ram Prasad and Surendra Vikram Singh—-would now be able to attend the House, sign on the register, claim allowances. However, they had been prohibited by the Supreme Court to participate in proceedings or vote in the House.