Quota Bill tabled in LS | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Quota Bill tabled in LS

india Updated: Aug 26, 2006 01:58 IST

HRD MINISTER Arjun Singh introduced the Central Educational Institutions (Reservation in Admission) Bill 2006 in the Lok Sabha on Friday, the last day of the monsoon session. The House then referred the bill for further deliberations to the ministry's standing committee.

The bill provides 27 per cent reservation for OBCs, 15 per cent for SCs and 7.5 per cent for STs — a total of 49.5 per cent — in central higher-education institutes like IITs, IIMs and AIIMS. It also provides reservation to all OBCs, including the creamy layer.

The medicos and students  have suspended the agitation as the bill has been sent to the standing committee.

The bill, however, exempts from the ambit of reservation 17 institutes of strategic importance and research, post-doctoral courses and institutions in tribal areas referred to in the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution.

The bill that was earlier presented before the cabinet had excluded creamy layer from quota beneficiaries but was revised after the cabinet decided to give reservation to all OBCs. The bill says, "OBCs means the class or classes of citizens who are socially and educationally backward, and are so determined by the Centre."

In the House, RJD member D.P. Yadav pointed out discrepancies regarding creamy layer in the Hindi and English versions of the bill. 

While the Hindi version excluded creamy layer, there was no mention of creamy layer in the English version. Parliamentary Affairs Minister P.R. Dasmunsi clarified that Hindi version would be corrected and the OBC definition in the English version was the right one.  The  bill empowers central statutory bodies to allow seats in institutes to be increased so that general seats need not be reduced.  

These bodies will also decide the road map to implement 27 per cent OBC reservation in each institution within three years -- depending on the resources of each institution. The law will be applicable from calendar year 2007 and for academic year 2007-08.

Section 2 (j) empowers the government to notify any branch of study in three principal levels of qualification -- bachelor, master's and doctoral level -- under the reservation regime. The subjects include agricultural and allied sciences, architecture, dentistry, engineering, law, management, medicine, nursing, pharmacy, technology and veterinary science. The 17 exempted institutes have been listed in the schedule of the bill and the government will have powers to exempt any institute of national and strategic importance. 

On the financial implications of the bill, the ministry said clause 5 made provision for a mandatory increase of seats in central educational institutions over a period of three years.