Race for tickets: Cong comes up with list of prospective candidates for all six seats in Ganganagar district | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Race for tickets: Cong comes up with list of prospective candidates for all six seats in Ganganagar district

india Updated: Oct 03, 2013 14:55 IST
Ramprakash Meel
Ramprakash Meel
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Congress has come up with a list of two to four prospective candidates for the six assembly seats in Ganganagar district for the upcoming assembly elections.

The prospective Congress candidates for Ganganagar seat are Rajkumar Gaur, who has served as chairman of Urban Improvement Trust and lost in the last elections; municipal council chairman Jagdish Jandu; and Bihani Shiskha Nyas chairman Jaideep Bihani.

For Sadulshahar seat, the panel of candidates comprises sitting MLA Santosh Saharan, Rajasthan Yuva Board chairman Pawan Godara, Rail Yatri Suvidha Samiti chairman Jagdish Sharma and Zila Parishad director Jaswant Dhillon.

Prospective candidates for Suratgarh seat are sitting MLA Gangajal Meel, former pradhan Sahibram Punia and Balram Verma, while Srikaranpur seat has state minister for agriculture marketing Gurmeet Singh Kunnar, Zila Parishad director Prithvipal Singh Sandhu and Kaka Harender Singh as potential candidates.

For the Raisinghnagar seat, the panel of candidates consists of sitting MLA Daulatraj Sameja and former MLA Sohan Naik.

From Anupgarh seat, the contenders for the party ticket are former minister Hiralal Indora, whose son Kuldeep lost in the last assembly elections, and director Zila Parishad Hariram Meghwal, who has served as pradhan of Panchayat Samiti for two terms.

While the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has not prepared any list of prospective candidates, there are several aspiring candidates fighting for the party ticket from the district.

For Ganganagar seat, sitting MLA Radheyshyam is confident of his candidature but others like Rajkumar Soni, Ajay Nagpal, Shiv Swami and Mahesh Periwal have publicly opposed Radheyshyam.

The Communist Party of India- Marxist (CPM) has come up with candidates for two seats.

Sitting MLA Pawan Duggal will again be the party candidate from Anupgarh seat while former students’ union president Sheopat Ram Meghwal will fight the elections from Raisinghnagar.