Railways win inaugural hockey event | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Railways win inaugural hockey event

india Updated: Jan 30, 2011 23:38 IST
HT Correspondent

Star-studded Railways were crowned champions in the inaugural edition of the Senior National women hockey championship that concluded at Sonepat on Sunday. They beat Haryana 7-1.

Railways, who had been dominating the domestic tournaments, were never challenged by the hosts. The half time score, 5-1, was enough indication of the Railways' domination in the encounter.

Skipper Saba Anjum set the ball rolling for the Railways when she deflected a penalty corner in the opening two minutes. Ten minutes later, the Railways scored again through Rani.

Another three goals by Asunta Lakra, Deepika Thakur and Jasjeet Kaur Handa in the later part of the first session, completely shut the door for Haryana who were playing without their star player Mamta Kharab. She had to sit out due to an injury. Haryana did however manage to pull one back just before the break.

After change of ends the Railways managed to slot in two more goals through Rani and Joydeep Kaur to complete the tally.