Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka get new guvs | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Sep 25, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Rajasthan, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka get new guvs

The government has finalised the names of four new governors: Kalyan Singh for Rajasthan, Vajubhai Rudabhai Vala for Karnataka, Ch Vidyasagar Rao for Maharashtra and Mridula Sinha for Goa.

india Updated: Aug 26, 2014 23:49 IST

On a day the BJP shunted its veteran stalwarts to a guides’ role, four other party seniors—with strong RSS background—were accommodated in Raj Bhavans.

Former Uttar Pradesh chief minister Kalyan Singh has become the governor of Rajasthan. Gujarat assembly Speaker Vajubhai Rudhbhai Vala went to Karnataka. Ex-union minister CH Vidyasagar Rao was made Maharashtra governor and BJP’s former women cell head Mridula Sinha got appointed as Goa governor.

HT online was the first to report these names Tuesday.

A Rashtrapati Bhavan communiqué also announced that Manipur governor Vinod K Duggal will double up as Mizoram governor, following K Sankaranarayanan’s resignation.

Three new governors will fill up vacancies left by three Congress veterans—K Shankarnarayanan in Maharashtra, Margaret Alva in Rajasthan and HR Bhardwaj in Karnataka. Sinha will fill the slot left vacant by a Gandhi-family loyalist, former Special Protection Group chief BV Wanchoo. While Wanchoo had resigned in June, Alva and Bhardwaj had completed their terms.

Singh, a powerful OBC leader belonging to the Lodh community, had been three-time chief minister of Uttar Pradesh. It was during his tenure that the Babri Masjid was demolished. Vale, 76, has been accommodated after losing out in the race to become Gujarat CM to chief minister Anandiben Patel (72).

Sinha, who penned a biography of Rajmata Vijayaraje Scindia is also a known face in Hindi Literature. Rao, a BJP bigwig from Telangana was a minister of state for home in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government.

Interestingly, Delhi BJP veteran VK Malhotra, who was earlier seen as a front-runner for gubernatorial assignment, is yet again left out.