Raman Singh takes oath as Chhattisgarh CM | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Raman Singh takes oath as Chhattisgarh CM

india Updated: Dec 12, 2013 14:29 IST
Ejaz Kaiser
Raman Singh

Raman Singh was sworn-in as the chief minister of Chhattisgarh for the third consecutive time in Raipur on Thursday in the presence of senior BJP leaders, including party's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi.

Singh, the 61-year-old doctor-turned politician, who led the BJP to victory in the closely contested assembly election was administered the oath of office and secrecy by the state governor Shekhar Dutt at the Police Parade Ground.

He was unanimously elected as leader of the legislature party a day after the BJP secured majority.

Singh took the oath alone and according to the party sources a new ministerial team will be in place by next week. After five members of the previous cabinet lost in the assembly elections, the party is cautious and will choose the best possible option.

"Singh will hold discussions with the party's central leadership before finalising his team," party sources told Hindustan Times.

After the swearing-in ceremony, Singh was hugged by his Gujarat counterpart Modi amid a cheering crowd. Singh now joins the club of BJP chief ministers who have scored hat-tricks in their respective states.

Top leaders of the BJP including party patriarch LK Advani, Modi, party president Rajnath Singh, Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar, Venkaiah Naidu, Nitin Gadkari, Ananth Kumar, Uma Bharti, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray among others attended the ceremony.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Vasundhara Raje - the chief minister-elects of Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan - and Harsh Vardhan, graced the occasion. Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal was the only non-BJP chief minister to attend the ceremony.

Senior Congress leader Ajit Jogi, his family members and few Congress legislators also registered their presence.

In the 90-member state assembly the BJP has 49 members while the Congress will continue as the main opposition party with 39 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party and an independent have one seat each.

The event was held amid tight security in and around the venue.