Rane loyalist, his supporters join BJP | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Rane loyalist, his supporters join BJP

india Updated: Sep 04, 2011 16:13 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Narayan Rane

The former legislator and once Narayan Rane loyalist, Prakash Bharsakle from Amravati joined BJP, along with thousands of his supporters in Nagpur on Sunday.

Bharsakle represented Daryapur assembly constituency in Amravati district for four consecutive terms—1990, 1995, 1999 and 2004—as Shiv Sena nominee. When the then leader of the Opposition and senior Sena leader, Narayan Rane left the saffron party and joined the Congress, Bharsakle followed him. He had contested the by-elections successfully in 2007 as Congress candidate.

Later, in 2009 as Daryapur constituency became reserved for SC category, Bharsakle shifted to neighbouring Akot constituency and contested the elections as an independent candidate. However, he with 32,415 finished third in the elections.

The BJP president Nitin Gadkari and the state president of the party, Sudhir Mungantiwar welcomed him and his supporters at a function, held at Gadkari’s Mahal residence this afternoon.

It was said that the BJP may field Bharsakle as its candidate for the ensuing local-self constituency elections of the state legislative council from Amravati division. The seat is now being represented by the former Maharashtra minister and senior BJP leader, Jagdish Gupta, who is now persona non grata for the party.

“I always had a strong belief in the leadership of Nitin Gadkari even when I was in Sena and Congress. I was in his (Gadkari’s) touch contentiously and joined the party today, along with my supporters,” Bharsakle said.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature