Rebel MLAs storm Assembly | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Rebel MLAs storm Assembly

india Updated: Oct 11, 2010 10:30 IST

Karnataka's rebel MLAs stormed the Assembly on Monday after the Speaker K G Bopaiah disqualified sixteen of them, including eleven from ruling BJP, ahead of the crucial trust vote.

Speaker K G Bopaiah signed the disqualification order on Sunday night after firing a strong missive to Governor H R Bhardwaj contesting his directive to him not to change the configuration of the House and maintain status quo on its strength as on October 6, Assembly secretariat sources said.

The rebel MLAs had withdrawn support to the government on October 6.

In his order, Bopaiah said these 16 MLAs have been disqualified under the provision of the anti-defection law as envisaged in the Tenth Schedule of the Constitution.

Those BJP MLAs who were disqualified are: Balachandra Jarkiholi, Belur Gopala Krishna, Anand Asnotikar, Dr Sarvabowma Bagali, V Nagaraju, Raje Kage, Y Sampangi, Nanjundaswamy, S K Bellubbi, H S Shankara Lingegowda and Shivanagouda Naik.

Former ministers Venkataramanappa, Shivaraj Tangadagi, Goolihatti Sekhar and M P Narendraswamy and independent MLAs have also been disqualified.

With this action, Bopaiah has brought down the strength in the 224-member Assembly to 208. The ruling party strength reduces to 106 from 117 and the opposition Congress and JDS have a combined strength of 101 (Congress 73 and JDS 28).