Regional parties take lion’s share of Rajya Sabha seats

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: Feb 07, 2014 21:46 IST

Polls held for eighteen Rajya Sabha seats on Friday threw up a mixed result, with parties strong in their respective states performing well.

Congress and its nominees won seven seats, while the rest were largely picked by regional outfits.

Out of six seats in Andhra Pradesh, Congress has bagged three. Party winners include industrialist T Subbarami Reddy, MA Khan, and KVP Ramachandra Rao.

The Telegu Desam Party won two seats, while K Keshava Rao of the Telangana Rashtriya Samiti was also elected.

A Congress rebel candidate pulled out at the last minute, enabling the TRS victory. Congress MLA D Venkateswara Rao, husband of Union minister D Purandeswari, becoming the first legislator to exercise the None-of-the-Above (NOTA) option.

Cross-voting in West Bengal helped Trinamool Congress bag four out of the five seats in the fray.

Veteran actor Mithun Chakraborti, industrialist KD Singh, and painter Jogen Chowdhury won as widely expected.

Trinamool’s fourth candidate Ahmed Hasan Imran also got elected, with three Left Front MLAs and two Congress MLAs supporting him.

Congress has suspended both the MLAs who deserted its ranks. Ritabrata Banerjee, a youth leader of the Communist Party of India (Marxist), was the sole Left winner from the state.

Amethi Lok Sabha MP Sanjay Singh’s nomination as the Congress’ Rajya Sabha candidate from Assam had led to voices of discontent at an “outsider” taking away political space.

But Singh, along with state unit president Bhubaneshwar Kalita, won comfortably.

The third seat from the state was also bagged by a Congress-backed candidate, the Bodo People’s Front Biswajit Daimary.

In Odisha, three official candidates of the Biju Janata Dal sailed through smoothly, while Congress candidate Ranjib Biswal defeated the BJD-backed independent candidate, sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra.

From Around the Web
Sponsored by Revcontent

also read

As poll-clock ticks, a Muzaffarnagar village waits for communal scars to heal
Show comments