Reliance-Iftekhar cricket from Feb 23 | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Reliance-Iftekhar cricket from Feb 23

india Updated: Feb 19, 2007 01:22 IST

A NUMBER of national and international cricket stars including Mohammad Kaif, V V S Laxman, R P Singh and Murali Karthik will be seen in action at Bab-e-Aali Stadium during the Reliance Trophy 32nd all-India Iftekhar Memorial Invitation Cricket Tournament beginning from February 23. The tournament will be organised under the aegis of the Iftekhar Cricket Academy. Final of the tournament will be played on March 7. 

Talking to the mediapersons here on Sunday, organising committee secretary Hamidullah Khan ‘Mamu’ said that for the first time any national-level cricket tournament would be organised on such a big scale. “We are fortunate to be a part of the oldest cricket tournament of the Capital”, said Khan.

Based on knockout system and guided by the One-Day International rules, each game in the tournament will be of 40-40 overs.

He further said that a number of famous teams from across the country will play in the competition. They include Indian Airlines, Delhi; Hyderabad Cricket Association, Hyderabad; Jhansi Division, Jhansi; Vidarbha Cricket Association, Nagpur; Kiran More Cricket Academy, Baroda; Lucknow Cricket Association, Lucknow; Punjab Electricity Board, Punjab; and Western Railways, Mumbai.

Bhopal Divisional Cricket Association (BDCA) senior vice-president Aruneshwar Singhdeo said that all preparations have been completed. “We hoping for close contests in the tournament”, said Singhdeo. The four local teams, which have been given entry in the tournament, are St Michael’s’ Academy, Indira Priyadarshini College, Irani Cricket Club and Arera Cricket Academy.

Well-known cricket players who are likely to play in the tournament include Vijay Dahia, Mohammad Kaif, V V S Laxman, Gyan Pandey, Murali Karthik, Jitender Singh Sodhi, Piyush Chawla, R P Singh, Sanjay Bangar, Dodda Ganesh, Hemang Badani, T P Singh, Yousuf Pathan, J P Yadav, Raja Ali, Sanjay Pandey, Brajesh Tomar, Abbas Ali, Devendra Bundela, Ankit Shrivastava and  Mohnish Mishra.

The winner will be awarded the Reliance Trophy and Rs 1,11,000 cash prize. The runner-up will get Rs 55,000 cash. Besides, individual prizes including man of the match, man of the series, best bowler, best all-rounder and best fielder will be presented.

State coordinator Reliance Industries Ltd, Dhananjay Singh, officially handed over the Reliance Trophy to Hamidullah Khan Mamu and Aruneshwar Singhdeo.

Gifts daily for spectators
WITH THE view of attracting crowd at the Bab-e-Aali Stadium during the matches, the organisers announced daily gifts for them. “During every match spectators will be given a coupon. At the end of the match each day, the winner will be selected through lottery and will get a mobile phone”, said Hamidullah Khan ‘Mamu’.