Repolling in nine polling stations in Orissa | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Repolling in nine polling stations in Orissa

india Updated: Apr 26, 2009 22:50 IST

Highlight Story

Repolling in Orissa's nine polling stations, where elections were disrupted during the second phase of polling on April 23, would be held on Monday, official sources said.

The nine polling booths are spread over seven of the 11 Lok Sabha constituencies.

Polling in these booths could not be conducted in view of attempted rigging, snatching of EVMs and group clash between different political parties near polling stations, they said, adding that elections were smooth in rest of the 16,563 polling stations.

Repolling would be held in three polling stations under Jajpur Lok Sabha constituency, while fresh polling would also take place in one booth each under Cuttack, Kendrapara, Puri, Jagatsinghpur, Keonjhar and Balasore Lok Sabha segments.

Earlier, repolling in eight polling stations was held for the first phase of elections.

Though elections could not be held in nearly two dozen booths in Malkangiri and Koraput districts due to Maoist violence on April 16, a decision on repolling in these places would be taken after consultation with the concerned district authorities, sources said.