SAD releases list of 15 candidates | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 09, 2016-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

SAD releases list of 15 candidates

india Updated: Dec 28, 2011 18:25 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The ruling Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) announced its second list of 15 candidates for Punjab assembly polls on Tuesday. The party would contest 94 seats in the polls - scheduled for January 30 - leaving 23 for ally BJP.

The SAD has been the first political party in the state to announce its candidates. On Friday, it had announced its first list of 48 candidates.

Tuesday's list included five sitting MLAs, three former MLAs, two former MPs and two women candidates.

Punjab deputy chief minister and SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal would contest from Jalalabad constituency in Ferozepur district. Sukhbir had won the by-poll from the same constituency in 2009.

Former deputy speaker of Lok Sabha Charanjit Singh Atwal would be the candidate from Payal in Ludhiana district.

Former union minister and president of the Lok Bhalai Party (LBP), Balwant Singh Ramoowalia, who merged with the Akalis earlier this month, would be the SAD candidate from SAS Nagar (Mohali), a new constituency created after the delimitation exercise.