Sagar division retains Hiralal Gaikwad Trophy | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sagar division retains Hiralal Gaikwad Trophy

india Updated: Oct 18, 2006 22:17 IST

SAGAR DIVISION retained the Hiralal Gaikwad Trophy for the fourth successive year defeating hosts Indore by 232 runs on the final day on Sunday.

Resuming at the overnight score of 101/2, Sagar scored 280 runs in their second innings. Skipper Rameez Khan was unlucky once again missing his 100 by just 2 runs. He was dismissed after scoring 98 runs. In the first innings, he missed a half-century by a couple of runs.

His inning was studded with 18 boundaries. Manoj Singh scored 58 with nine boundaries. Paras Jain took four wickets for 63 runs while Sachin Sanwer took three wickets for 40 runs. Amay Pankhe chipped in two wickets for 34 runs.
Chasing a huge total of 402 runs for victory, the Indore batsmen crumbled under pressure. Except skipper Himalay Sagar, the other batsmen failed to show a good temperament to stay at the middle.

It was Vishal Kushwah who ripped the Indore batting lineup in the first innings. In the second innings, it was Sachin Katare who ran through the Indore batting capturing six wickets for 58 runs. Rajiv Sharma gave good support from the other and captured four wickets for 57 runs. Indore lost all the wickets for 170 runs. Himalay Sagar scored 60 with nine boundaries, while Ankit Parashar scored 28 and Rohan Shrivatsav scored 22.

Former Ranji player Narendra Dua was the chief guest. He distributed the prizes to winners. U-15 selection committee chairman Karan Singh Shekhawat along with IDCA secretary Kanwaljeet Khanuja presided over the function. Rajesh Walecha conducted the programme.

Brief score: Sagar Division Ist innings: 278 and IInd innings 280. Indore Division Ist innings 156 and IInd innings 170.  Result: Sagar won the match by 232 runs.