Samajwadi Party expels six MPs | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Samajwadi Party expels six MPs

india Updated: Jul 25, 2008 16:41 IST

Samajwadi Party on Friday expelled six of its MPs from the party for defying the whip to vote in favour of the UPA Government's confidence motion in the Lok Sabha.

"We have expelled the six MPs for defying the party directive. We will inform the Speaker about our decision tomorrow," SP General Secretary Amar Singh told reporters here.

The MPs who are expelled from the party are Jai Prakash (Mohanlalganj), S P Singh Baghel (Jalesar), Raj Narain Budholia (Hamirpur), Afzal Ansari (Ghazipur), Ateq Ahmed (Phulpur) and Munnawar Hussain (Muzaffarnagar).

Singh also rubbished allegations that he paid money to MPs to defect and vote in favour of the Government.

"We also lost MPs. We have not paid money to anybody," he said. MORE