SBI badminton tourney qualifying round begins | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

SBI badminton tourney qualifying round begins

india Updated: Dec 26, 2006 02:02 IST

THE SECOND State Bank of Indore All India Senior Major Ranking Badminton Tournament’s qualifying rounds, organised by the MP Badminton Association, begun here today. The tournament carries a prize-money of Rs 4 lakh.

Amit Saxena, Abhimanyu Singh and Arun Shukla of Madhya Pradesh sailed in the third round. The matches of main draw would begin tomorrow. In the qualifying rounds, 73 players took part and eight of them qualified. In the women’s category, four of the 28 players qualified for the main draw.

Sports Minister Yashodhara Raje Scindia would inaugurate the tournament at 11 am, Customs and Central Excise Commissioner Arvind Singh and State Bank of Indore Managing Director C Narasimhan would preside over the function.

In women’s singles matches, V Jyothi Swaroopa of AP, Mohita Sahdev of Delhi, J Shruthi of AP, Ridhi Pajwani of Railways, Jui Agaskar of Maharashtra, Sampada Sahastrabudhe of Maharashtra, P Jyotsna of AP, Bibari Basumatray of Assam and Chitralekha of Delhi won their respective matches.