Security beefed up for by-polls | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 14, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Security beefed up for by-polls

The by-poll on 11 Vidhan Sabha seats and one Lok Sabha seat will be held amid tight security on Saturday.

india Updated: Nov 06, 2009 22:13 IST

The by-poll on 11 Vidhan Sabha seats and one Lok Sabha seat will be held amid tight security on Saturday.

The by-poll will be held in Puwayan, Hainser Bazar, Padrauna, Kolasala,Rari, Isaulli, Etawah, Bharthana, Jhansi, Lalitpur, Lucknow (West) Vidhan Sabha segment and Firozabad Lok Sabha seat.

The Chief Electoral Officer, Umesh Sinha said central paramilitary forces (CPMF) would be deployed at the polling booths along with the civil police and provincial armed constabulary (PAC) jawans to ensure free and fair polling.

The Election Commission has set up 5616 polling stations and 3682 polling centers.

“In comparison to the Vidhan Sabha (2007) and Lok Sabha election (2009) the security arrangements have been stepped up in the by-poll. Along with patrolling the CPMF personnels would also maintain vigil at the booths” he said.

“The polling booths have been divided into three categories including normal, critical, sensitive. The jawans would be deployed according to the sensitivity of the booths”, Sinha said.

The Election Commission had deputed 2300 micro observers, 700 sector magistrates and 90 zonal magistrates on the poll duty. To monitor polling process 2200 digital cameras and 700 video cameras had been installed at the polling booths.

The Election Commission had also deputed 16 observers in 11 Vidhan Sabha segment. While five observers have been deputed in Firozabad Lok Sabha constituency alone.

The ADG (Law and Order) East, Brij Lal said 60 Deputy SP, 180 inspectors, 2173 sub inspectors, 3128 head constables, 16800 constables and 21770 home guards have been deputed on poll duty. To ensure peaceful polling 42 companies PAC, 26 companies CPMF and 45 companies of State Armed Police from West Bengal and Haryana would be deployed in the constituencies.

The fate of the 177 candidates contesting election on 11 Vidhan Sabha seat and one Lok Sabha seat would be decided in the by-poll. Maximum number of candidates 20 are contesting from Lucknow (West) assembly segments followed by Rari (18) and Kolasala (17). Twelve women candidates are also in the fray. Forty five lakh voters (26.64 lakh male) and (22.36 lakh women) would exercise their franchise right.