Seven in fray for inner Manipur LS seat | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Seven in fray for inner Manipur LS seat

india Updated: Apr 09, 2009 16:25 IST

Seven candidates will contest for the prestigious Inner Manipur parliamentary constituency in the second phase of the Lok Sabha polls on April 22, election office said on Thursday.

Sources said none of the candidates withdrew their nominations on the last day of withdrawal of papers on Wednesday.

Prominent candidates from this constituency (valley district) are former Union Minister of State for Sports Th Chaoba of Manipur People's Party, former Chief Minister W Nipamacha who is representing BJP, former Manipur Veterinary Minister and M Nara (CPI) and sitting Congress MP T Meinya.

The constituency comprises of 32 Assembly seats spread over four valley districts of Imphal east, Imphal west, Thoubal and Bishenpur, the sources said.

The constituency has a total electorate of 8,25,019 including 4,34,574 women.

Manipur has two parliamentary seats -- inner Manipur and outer Manipur (hill districts).

For the outer Manipur parliamentary seat having 9,02,221 voters including 4,62,949 women, nine candidates are in the fray, they said.

Prominent among them are sitting MP of People's Democratic Alliance, Mani Cheranamei, Congress nominee Thangso Baite and Nationalist Congress Party candidate L B Sona, they added.