Seven world champs to pedal in Delhi | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Seven world champs to pedal in Delhi

india Updated: Sep 27, 2010 12:56 IST

Seven world champions are part of cycling powerhouse Australia's 27-strong team, announced today for the October Commonwealth Games in Delhi.

The 2004 Olympic and reigning Commonwealth Games champion Anna Meares, and defending men's road race champion Mathew Hayman are in the squad. Australia finished on top in the cycling medals tally the last time around with six gold, two silver and two bronze medals.

For the track event, world champions Ashlee Ankudinoff (teams pursuit), Kaarle McCulloch (team sprint), Meares (500m time trial and team sprint), Josephine Tomic (teams pursuit), Jack Bobridge (teams pursuit), Michael Hepburn (teams pursuit), and three-time champion at this year's world titles Cameron Meyer (teams pursuit, points race and madison) have been pencilled into the squad.

Eighteen-year-old world junior 3000m record holder Dale Parker is the youngest member of the men's team. At 27, two-time world cup keirin silver medallist Jason Niblett will be the oldest track cyclist in the squad. Australian Commonwealth Games Association CEO Perry Crosswhite said the cycling team will again be expected to return with a bagful of medals.

"The weight of seven current world champions is huge and the recent performances of the Australian track team will mean we enter the Games in a strong position and as a feared unit by competing nations," Crosswhite was quoted as saying by 'The Australian'. "We know the nation loves to watch Anna Meares compete in the Australian colours and we hope she can add to her already full set of CWG medals," he added.