Sheila Dikshit is still Delhi's darling | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2018-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sheila Dikshit is still Delhi's darling

The election results for the four states' assembly seats show Congress surging ahead and surprising all the poll pundits. Delhi was a crowning glory for the party where incumbent Chief Minster Sheila Dixit steers the party for third straight win. Special: Judgement Day

india Updated: Dec 08, 2008 12:24 IST

Ruling Congress won three seats in Delhi Assembly elections and was leading at 37 other constituencies while BJP was ahead at 25 seats in the 70-member Assembly.

Mukesh Sharma of Congress was the first to emerge victorious in the Delhi Assembly elections by defeating his nearest rival BJP's Pawan Sharma in Uttam Nagar by a margin of 7,187 votes.

Sharma, who is entering the Assembly for the fourth consecutive term, has shifted to Uttam Nagar constituency following delimitation.

Another two-time MLA who won this time was Mahabal Mishra. He defeated his nearest BJP rival Pradyuman Rajput by 13,981 votes.

In Jungpura, two-time MLA Tarvinder Singh Marwah defeated Akali Dal's Manjinder Singh Sirsa by a margin of 13,956 votes.

Ministers AK Walia (Laxmi Nagar), Arvinder Singh Lovely (Gandhi Nagar) and Yoganand Shastri (Mehrauli) were ahead in the race.

Ministers Harun Yusuf (Ballimaran) and Raj Kumar Chouhan (Mangolpuri), who were initially trailing, were now ahead in the race.

Delhi Assembly Speaker Chaudhury Prem Singh, who has never lost an election since 1958, is leading in Ambedkar Nagar.

Delhi BJP president Harsh Vardhan is trailing in Krishna Nagar constituency.

Congress is leading Vishwas Nagar, Kasturba Nagar, Rohtas Nagar, Patel Nagar, Uttam Nagar and Dwarka while BJP is ahead in Shakur Basti, Patparganj and Karol Bagh.