Six Naga MLAs in Manipur resign | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Six Naga MLAs in Manipur resign

india Updated: May 07, 2010 18:46 IST

Six Naga MLAs in Manipur have resigned in protest against the state government disallowing NSCN(IM) General Secretary T Muivah to visit his ancestral village in the state.

The MLAs, all independents, who were camping in Delhi, have sent their resignation letters to Speaker Budhi Singh by fax, assembly sources said on Friday.

The sources said the Speaker had received the resignation letters, but they have not been accepted so far.

The legislators are Morung Mokunga (Tengnoupal), M Thohri (Mao), Wungnaoshing Keishing (Phungyar), K Raina (Tadubi), P Awangbou (Tamei) and Khasing Ruivah (Chingai).

The MLAs said they wanted to resign their membership because Muivah was not welcome in Manipur by the people of the state.