Sixth phase of UP polls on May 3 | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 02, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sixth phase of UP polls on May 3

india Updated: Apr 29, 2007 13:04 IST
UP polls

The sixth phase of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls for 52 constituencies and the by-election to the Robertsganj parliamentary constituency will be held on May 3.

According to data available from the Election Commission, a total of 11 candidates are in the fray for the Robertganj parliamentary by-election. A total of 15,79,506 electors' names are listed in the electoral rolls and 1787 Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used by equal number of polling stations.

A total of 1,57,28,052 voters, including 72,49,545 women, will cast their franchise in the sixth phase of polling.

A total of 785 candidates, including 50 women candidates, will try their luck for entry into the House of the state Legislative Assembly.

The Soron Assembly constituency will witness the presence of largest of 25 contestants, while reserved constituency of Maja(SC) will have the smallest number of nine candidates.

While the Chiraigaon assembly constituency will have the largest number of 4,11,069 voters, the Varanasi south assembly constituency will have the smallest with 2,28,983 voters.

A total of 15508 polling stations will be set up to conduct the polls where 17800 EVMs will be used.

The Commission has identified 16 assembly constituencies as sensitive and has chalked out an intensive plan whereby the electors in all these constituencies would be provided adequate security cover so that voting could take place in a free and fair atmosphere.