Slender margin of victory in 10 Punjab constituencies | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 10, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Slender margin of victory in 10 Punjab constituencies

india Updated: Mar 06, 2012 22:00 IST

Highlight Story

It was a slender margin of victory in as many as ten Punjab Assembly constituencies that played a key role in the final outcome of poll results of the 117-member House.

In these 10 Assembly constituencies, the winning margin was less than 1,000 votes, with the lowest being just 31 votes.

Out of these ten assembly seats, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) candidates turned up to be lucky as they emerged victorious in nine constituencies while one went to Congress candidate.

Akali's Avinash Chander defeated his rival Congress' Santokh Singh Chaudhary from Phillaur by a slender margin of 31 votes.

This was followed by chief minister Parkash Singh Badal's son-in-law and sitting minister Adesh Partap Singh Kairon from Patti, who defeated Congress' Harminder Singh Gill by 59 votes.

Of the 10 Assembly seats, the lone seat where Congress registered victory was Fatehgarh Churian. Congress' Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa managed to edge pass Punjab Assembly Speaker Nirmal Singh Kahlon by 639 votes there.

The ten seats where the victory margin was slender included Ferozepur rural, Jagraon reserve, Nihalsinghwala, Payal reserve, Fatehgarh Churian, Shutrana, Jalandhar cantonment and Kartarpur.