Smaller parties, independents decimated in UP polls | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Smaller parties, independents decimated in UP polls

india Updated: May 12, 2007 14:24 IST
Highlight Story

Smaller parties and independents, who extracted their pound of flesh during the coalition governments in the past 14 years in Uttar Pradesh, have been decimated in the BSP wave with just 26 candidates winning.

A staggering 3,937 contestants from over 100 small parties and including 2,581 independents were in the fray in the just concluded elections. In the previous elections independents and small parties accounted for 32 legislatators.

The left front -- CPIM, CPI, Forward Bloc and RSP -- drew a blank when all its 46 candidates were defeated. In the outgoing assembly, Left had a token presence with CPIM having two legislators.

Two little known outfits -- Lok Pritran Party and Bharat Punarnirman Dal -- which made news since they were formed by students from IIT-Kanpur could not impress voters when they drew a blank. They together had fielded 10 candidates.

Of the 26 winners in the others and independents groups, Ajit Aingh's RLD accounted for 10 seats while 11 independents won. RPD won two seats while Bhartiya Janshakti, Jan Morcha and UPUDF won one each. RLD, which fielded 150 candidates, won 15 seats last time.

The UPUDF had some consolation when Haji Yaqoob Qureshi, who made news for seeking the Danish cartoonist's head, won from Meerut.

RPD, which won two seats, was founded by the mafia turned politician DP Yadav, the father of the Nitish Katara murder case prime accused Vikas Yadav.

The Apna Dal, an ally of BJP, was trounced as it failed to secure even one seat after contesting from 40 constituencies.

The party president Sonelal Patel, who is a kurmi leader, lost from the two constituencies. The party had won three seats last time.