SP declares second list for 2014 polls | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 16, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

SP declares second list for 2014 polls

india Updated: Nov 20, 2012 00:32 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Mulayam Singh Yadav's Samajwadi Party is setting the pace for the other political parties in the race for 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

The party declared its second list of eight candidates on Monday. With 55 names in the first list, the SP, so far, has declared candidates for 63 seats of the total 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh.

The second list has three senior ministers of the Akhilesh Yadav government. Balram Yadav, Om Prakash Singh and Shaahid Manzoor would contest from Azamgarh, Ghazipur and Meerut respectively.

The second list also replaced RK Singh Patel on the Banda seat by a new name -Shyamacharan Gupta. This has come as a surprise as Gupta couldn't win the last Assembly elections.

In the second list, instead of giving ticket to the sitting MP from Bulandshahr (reserved) seat, Kamlesh Valmiki, the party has fielded Ravi Gautam.

Another sitting MP, Radhey Mohan Singh in Ghazipur, has been replaced by minister Om Prakash Singh.

The list also has some relatives of senior party leaders. Kajal Sharma, the wife of Bhagwan Sharma (MLA from Dibai) has been given a ticket for Aligarh. Mahendra Verma (brother of minister Narendra Verma) has been declared the candidate from Sitapur.

Dharmraj Patel, who joined SP two days ago from Congress, will contest from Phulpur.