Sri Lanka recall Zoysa for England tour | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Sri Lanka recall Zoysa for England tour

Sri Lankan cricket board recalled the seamer but captain Marvan Atapattu remained an uncertain starter.

india Updated: Apr 10, 2006 12:46 IST

Sri Lanka's cricket selectors on Monday recalled seamer Nuwan Zoysa for the upcoming Test tour of England but captain Marvan Atapattu remained an uncertain starter.

Atapattu, who has been sidelined for the last three months due to a back injury, was named captain of the 16-man squad pending a fitness test before the team's departure on April 19.

Opening batsman Jehan Mubarak and Ian Daniel have been put on standby in case Atapattu does not make the tour, which includes three Tests and five one-day internationals, Sri Lanka Cricket said.

Zoysa, 27, who has been plagued by injuries through his career, played the last of his 30 Tests in July 2004, but his presence in the seaming English conditions is considered vital.

The lanky left-arm seamer replaces paceman Dilhara Fernando, who was dropped after a lacklustre performance on Pakistan's recent tour of Sri Lanka.

Senior pro Chaminda Vaas returns to spearhead the bowling attack after he missed the Pakistan series due to injury.

Pakistan won the two-Test series 1-0.

Wicket-keeper batsman Prasanna Jayawardene was also named in the squad as cover for Kumar Sangakkara with the tourists scheduled to play four tour games in between the Tests.

The place vacated by the retirement of veteran opener Sanath Jayasuriya has been taken by 25-year-old opening batsman Michael Vandort.

Sri Lanka begin the tour with a three-day game against British Universities at Cambridge from April 24.

The first Test starts at Lord's on May 11, followed by the second Test in Birmingham from May 25 and the third in Nottingham from June 2.

Sri Lanka will also play a Twenty20 international at Southampton on June 15 before a series of five one-day internationals against England from June 17 to July 1.

Sri Lankan squad:

Marvan Atapattu (capt), Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Upul Tharanga, Chamara Kapugedara, Tillekeratne Dilshan, Thilan Samaraweera, Michael Vandort, Prasanna Jayawardene, Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Zoysa, Farveez Maharoof, Muttiah Muralitharan, Malinga BandaraBandara.

Coach: Tom Moody