St Michael?s to face Bilaspur in semis | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

St Michael?s to face Bilaspur in semis

india Updated: Feb 01, 2007 02:58 IST
Highlight Story

BILASPUR PULLED off a comfortable win against Allahabad in the quarterfinal match of the All India Mayank Chaturvedi Memorial Cricket Tournament played at Old Campion grounds on Wednesday. Bilaspur will take on St Michael’s on

Santosh Sahu, the skipper of the Bilaspur team that was the runners-up in the tournament last year, opted to bat first after winning the toss. However, opener Santosh Das could not set any example for his teammates and was back in the dressing room after adding just 16 runs to the total.

Apoorva Bhandari and P Vivek played according to the expectations. Apoorva, who has been consistent, scored 52 runs off 56 deliveries, including seven hits to the fence. P Vivek looked better in connecting the ball with the willow. His 71 runs included nine hits to the fence and one over the fence.

Both stitched 104 runs partnership for the second wicket. The irresponsible batting by the rest of the batsmen restricted the team’s total to 252 runs in the stipulated 46 overs. Rohit Dhruv scored 22 runs.

For the Allahabad side, Abhishek Gaur claimed four wickets. Shahbuddin scalped three wickets. In reply, Allahabad lost its three wickets when the score was 68 runs. When the team was in need of a responsible innings, Prashant Khare demonstrated excellent cricket. Javed Ahmed supported him by playing a small but important innings of 33 runs that helped the team in bouncing back in the match.

When the team looked comfortable in scoring runs, Sushant Shukla of Bilaspur came out to put breaks on the batting. His 7.4 overs spell restricted Allahabad to 200 runs. Bilaspur won the match by 52 runs. He claimed five wickets by conceding 37 runs. Prashant scored 53 runs.

Chief guest of the man of the match presentation ceremony and Hindustan Times general manager Fehmi Hussain presented ‘HT Man of the Match’ trophy to Sushant Shukla.