Stage set for counting of LS seats in Jharkhand | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Stage set for counting of LS seats in Jharkhand

india Updated: May 15, 2009 21:15 IST

Counting for the 14 lok sabha constituencies and the Jamtara assembly seat in Jharkhand will begin at 8 am on Saturday amidst adequate deployment of para- military forces, state Chief Electoral Officer, Debasish Gupta said on Friday.

Fifteen minutes after the completion of counting the postal ballots, the EVM machines will be opened in all the constitutencies...Information on the counting and results will be posted on http://eciresults.Nic.In, besides periodic public announcements, Gupta told a news conference in Ranchi.

Stating that the media persons could carry their cell phones till the specially allotted media centres at the counting centres, he said about 5000 polling personnel would oversee the counting.

Result for the Singhbhum constituency is expected to be announced first as it has only 11 rounds to count while Godda lok sabha constituency would take the maximum 30 rounds of counting, a release by the election commission said.

The fate of two Union ministers, Subodh Kant Sahay and Rameshwar Oraon and four former chief ministers-- Shibu Soren, Babulal Marandi, Arjun Munda and Madhu Koda would be known by Saturday afternoon.

Jharkhand went for a two-phased polling on April 16 and 23.